award ceremony

William Woods students named Distinguished Scholars

At the end of every academic year, William Woods University recognizes a select group of its students with the Distinguished Scholar award. Faculty members designate one graduating senior from each program for the honor. While eligibility requires a minimum 3.4 grade point average, faculty also consider other relevant academic factors in the selection process.

“The Distinguished Scholar is a very prestigious award at William Woods, identifying and honoring the top student in each discipline,” said Dr. Aimee Sapp, vice president of academic affairs and dean of the undergraduate college.

For the 2020-2021 academic year, 18 seniors were recognized as Distinguished Scholars:

  • Accounting: Abigail Bartlett, Holts Summit, Mo.
  • American Sign Language: Brianna Devellano, Burbank, Calif.
  • Art Education: Makayla Schafer, Salem, Mo.
  • Biology: Emma Pfortmiller, Littleton, Colo.
  • Business Administration: Ana Zavala, Tegucigalpa, Honduras
  • Communication: Kara Jeffers, Moscow Mills, Mo.
  • Elementary Education: Adrianna Koty, Joliet, Ill.
  • Equestrian Science: Leslie Reynolds, Durham, N.C.
  • Equine Administration: Carley Sukkert, Charleston, S.C.
  • English Education: Grace Meinhardt, Lake St. Louis, Mo.
  • Equine General Studies: Morgan Crooks, Liberty, Mo.
  • Exercise Science: Benjamin Farrell, Fayetteville, Ark.
  • Interpretation Studies in ASL-English: Lydia Rogers, Eldorado, Ill.
  • Mathematics: Aurora Henriksen, Narvik, Norway
  • Physical Education: Roberto Duro Sanchez, Madrid, Spain
  • Psychology: Haley Hartman, Fulton, Mo.
  • Social Work: Kendall Dewein, Columbia, Mo.
  • Theatre: Emma Cunningham, Lee’s Summit, Mo.