Jean Kraus

William Woods University Equestrian professor wins prestigious national award

The elite Equestrian Science program at William Woods University (WWU) received more national recognition this week, through the work of one its long-time Equestrian Science professors. Jean Kraus, tenured professor of Equestrian Studies at WWU since 1974, was recently named the United States Dressage Federation’s (USDF) Volunteer of the Year for 2020. 

The USDF Volunteer of the Year award is given to an individual that has demonstrated exceptional commitment towards carrying out USDF’s mission, through consistent and cumulative volunteer activities.

In addition to teaching responsibilities at William Woods, Kraus serves as a Registered Technical Delegate while holding advanced degrees in Counseling Psychology and Information Science. Her education has helped her develop education programs for other technical delegates, including course curriculum for technical delegate and Pony Measurement clinics and online learning modules and resources. Kraus also currently serves as USDF Technical Delegates Committee Chair, as a member of the USDF Licensed Officials Education Task Force and Regional Championships Committee, and also serves on the USDF Rules Advisory Working Group and the Licensed Officials Working Group of the United States Equestrian Federation Dressage Sport Committee.

“Jean is the perfect choice for this important recognition of national service,” said Lisa Gorretta, President of USDF. “She serves not only as a committee chair, but as an integral member of several other committees and working groups, always saying ‘yes’ when asked. Jean brings energy and enthusiasm to every challenge she takes on and encourages both new and seasoned volunteers to work with her in accomplishing tasks. She seamlessly transitions between her professional life as a college professor and an educator in the field for us and we are very lucky to have her.” Based in Lexington, Kentucky, the USDF is a non-profit membership organization dedicated to education, recognition of achievement, and promotion of dressage, one of the four seats of equestrian.