William Woods University team named Missouri Collegiate DECA Chapter of the Year for third straight year

Fulton, MO – For the first time, a Missouri university has been named state Collegiate DECA Chapter of the Year for three consecutive years, and that institution is William Woods University (WWU). The WWU team edged the team from Southeast Missouri St. University to once again claim the honor at the Missouri Collegiate DECA annual conference, which took place February 21 and 22 in Osage Beach.

Around 120 Collegiate DECA participants attended the conference, representing 11 Missouri colleges and universities.

DECA (Distributive Education Clubs of America) is an organization that prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in the fields of marketing, finance, hospitality and management in high schools and colleges around the globe. William Woods is one of 250 campuses around the world with a Collegiate DECA chapter.

The Missouri Collegiate DECA Chapter of the Year is determined by participation in the Leadership Passport Program, a scrapbook outlining chapter activities, and an interview conducted at the state conference. The Leadership Passport Program is a recognition program also hosted at the national level that honors Collegiate DECA chapters and individuals for completing activities in the categories of Academically Successful and Career Ready, Community Oriented, Professionally Responsible and Experienced Leaders.

“Having William Woods named DECA Collegiate Chapter of the Year for the third consecutive year, beating out teams from much larger universities in the process, is pretty remarkable,” said David Forster, Associate Professor of Business and Economics and DECA advisor at WWU. “Our success illustrates not only the outstanding quality of students we have, but also the exciting opportunities that await for someone who decides to attend The Woods.”

Participating in the state Collegiate DECA conference from William Woods were Chapter Co-Presidents Emilee Bluth ’19 and Nina McKee ’19; Adam Magee ’20; Nicholas Mennemeyer ’19; Jennah Arrington ’19; Jody Bischoff ’19; Megan Tolias ’19; Ben Schmiemeier ’21; Elizabeth Tamborski ’22; and Mary Aguado ’22.

Aguado, the state representative for WWU for 2019-2020, was also elected Missouri Collegiate DECA State President for the coming academic year.