WWU Theatre Program Gives End-of-Year-Awards

The William Woods University theatre program recently held its annual achievement night, awarding students for their academic and production achievements for the 2009-10 theatre season.


Allison Ward, a senior from Hazelwood, Mo., won the “Most Contribution to the Theatre Department” Award. This award is the highest honor the department gives to any actor, student, technician, designer or manager. The recipient is the person that best exemplifies all aspects of the theatre department.


In addition, Ward received one of the Mainstage Design/Management/Technical Awards for her sound design work and attention to detail in “The Diviners.” Also receiving Mainstage Design/Management/Technical Awards were Michael Dodson of Mexico, Mo., for his stage management of “Down the Road” and Dustin West of Kansas City, Mo., for his stage management of “The Diviners.”


Ward also received a portfolio certificate for Professional Presentation. Also receiving portfolio certificates were Rachel Petricka of Las Vegas, Nev., for Artistic Growth and West for Dedication to Craft.


Known as the WWU Theatre Guild Awards, Best Actor and Actress honors, along with Best Actor and Actress in a Supporting Role, are determined by a group of faculty, staff and community members.


Ashleigh Emmons of Katy, Texas, was awarded Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role for “Kiss Me Kate.” The Best Performance by an actor in a Leading Role went to Drew Arnett of Columbia, Mo., for “The Diviners.”


Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role went to Kayla Jo Pulliam of Bloomington, Ill., for her role as Madam Arcati in “Blithe Spirit.” Cody Olendorff of Pacific, Mo., received Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role for “The Diviners.”


Also nominated for Best Actress or Actor were Jenni Barber of Jonesboro, Ark., Olendorff, Petricka and Pulliam. Nominated for their supporting roles were Kendra Bolan of Lincoln, Neb.; Jason M. Cavallone of Columbia, Mo.; Petricka, Arnett and Dodson.


The Old World Craftsman Award was presented to Bryn Hudson of Carrollton, Texas. This award is given to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding technical theatre craftsmanship far beyond the necessary requirements of the productions.


Newly initiated members of Alpha Psi Omega, theatre honor society, were recognized: Sam Binkley of Fulton, Mo.; Wendy Polcin of Racine, Wis.; Dodson, Petricka and West.


Productions planned for the 2010-11 theatre season were also announced. The season will include the musical “Zombie Prom,” “Equus,” “Fuddy Meers” and “Lysistrata.”