William Woods University’s Horses, Riders Win State Awards

Horses and riders from William Woods University’s equestrian studies division won 21 awards at the Missouri Horse Shows Association (MHSA) annual banquet Saturday (Feb. 1) in Columbia.

Callie Cooper, a junior from Shawnee Mission, Kan., received first place in the Senior Hunt Seat Medallion Finals on Fergus O’Sullivan. Andrew Garrison, a freshman from Lake Saint Louis, Mo., was the recipient of the Scott Haines Memorial Trophy and winner of the MHSA Saddle Seat Medallion Finals.

The other awards won by WWU went to William Woods-owned horses and were based on the number of wins by the horses during the 2002 show season at member shows throughout Missouri. These included such shows as the Missouri State Fair, the St. Louis National Charity Horse Show and the American Royal, as well as shows in many neighboring states. Various William Woods equestrian students rode the winning horses.

William Woods University-owned horses captured five first place awards. Winners were: Worthiness with Jennifer Gassen and Heather Digiannantonio in ASB 3-Gaited Park, Paragon’s Jolie with Kristie Cutting and Zach Duffy in ASB 3-Gaited Open, Paragon’s Jolie with Colleen Harper Hertzog and Zach Duffy in 3-Gaited Amateur, Stonewall’s Jack O’Diamonds with Heather Digiannantonio and Kristina Baum in ASB 3-Gaited Show Pleasure, Colossal with Morgan Shindler, Heather Digiannantonio and Ashleigh Castleberry in ASB 5-Gaited Show Pleasure.

Placing second were seven horses: My Last Shot with Jessie Kieren and Tricia Pratt in ASB 3-Gaited Park, Who Ah with Ciera Hertzog in ASB 3-Gaited Show Pleasure Junior Exhibitor, Detante with Jessica Swanson and Callie Cooper in Adult Jumpers, Detante with Colleen Harper Hertzog and Beth Ahner in Novice Rider Jumpers, Perfect Pizzaz with Hattie Hobbs, Mary Beck and Kat Schaaf in Beginner Rider Hunters, Jackalope with Jessica Swanson and Kris Killam in Open Jumpers and Jetoe’s Sorrel Man with Lindsey Eads, Pauline Curry and Crystal Everett in Open Trail.

Third place honors went to: MJK Seize Command with Stella Traylor, Jen Brown, Morgan Schindler and Colleen Harper Hertzog in Morgan English Pleasure, Bazooka Joe with Catherine McMillan and Tricia Pratt in ASB 5-Gaited Show Pleasure and Jetoe’s Sorrel Man with Lindsey Eads, Pauline Curry and Crystal Everett in Open Western Pleasure.

Taking fourth was Callaway’s Connie Mack with Stella Traylor and Kristie Cutting in ASB 5-Gaited Show Pleasure and Jetoe’s Sorrel Man with Lindsey Eads, Pauline Curry and Crystal Everett in Open Western Pleasure Adult. A Slight Investment with Leslie Randall and Sara Forman took fifth in Open Western Pleasure Adult and sixth place in Open Western Pleasure.

Gayle Lampe and Laura Ward coached the saddle seat riders, Karen Craighead coached the western and Linda McClaren coached the hunter/jumpers.

The riding program at William Woods began in 1924 and, in1972, WWU became the first university in the nation to offer a four-year degree in equestrian science. There are approximately 160 riders in the program and 113 horses, each donated to the school from all over the United States.

The Missouri Horse Shows Association is a multi-breed organization made up of approximately 500 individual members and 115 member horse shows. The MHSA is an affiliate of USA Equestrian and has as its purpose the promotion of breeding, development, exhibition, marketing and ownership of light horse breeds within the state of Missouri.