William Woods students named Distinguished Scholars

At the end of every academic year, William Woods University recognizes a select group of its students with the Distinguished Scholar award. Faculty members designate one graduating senior from each program for the honor. While eligibility requires a minimum 3.4 grade point average, faculty also consider other relevant academic factors in the selection process.

“The Distinguished Scholar is a very prestigious award here at William Woods, identifying and honoring the top student in each discipline,” said Dr. Aimee Sapp, vice president of academic affairs and dean of the undergraduate college.

For the 2017-2018 academic year, 21 seniors were recognized as Distinguished Scholars:

  • Accounting: Abigail Ferguson, St. Louis, Mo.
  • American Sign Language: Vanessa Gleese, Columbia, Mo.
  • Athletic Training: Alexandra Bankovich, Sedalia, Mo.
  • Biology: Elyssa Cappaert, Chesterfield, Mo.
  • Business Administration: Jordan Elliott, New Bloomfield, Mo.
  • Communication: Sara Laney, Shawnee, Kan.
  • Criminal Justice: Anthony Davison, Goodyear, Ariz.
  • Elementary Education: Audrey Hamilton, Fulton, Mo.
  • English: Brittni Cebulak, Hermann, Mo.
  • Equestrian Science: Jane Bond, Manistee, Mich.
  • Equine Administration: Brittany Jones, Valley Park, Mo.
  • Equine General Studies: Katelyn Goetze, Stover, Mo.
  • Graphic Design: Megan Schmeling, Martinsburg, Mo.
  • Management Information Systems: Tim Buehne, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Middle School Education: Kelsey Scherder, Bowling Green, Mo.
  • Online Business Administration: Brianna Killian, Huntsville, Mo.
  • Political/Legal Studies: Victoria Finn, DeSoto, Mo.
  • Psychology: Stephanie Clawson, St. Charles, Mo.
  • Social Work: Jill Bowen, New London, Mo.
  • Special Education: Hilary Hentges, Jefferson City, Mo.
  • Theatre: Jessica Fleeman, St. Peters, Mo.


previous arrow
next arrow