Theatre Department Presents Awards

The William Woods Theatre Department recently hosted its annual awards banquet, recognizing students and local participants for their achievements and high involvement in the department.

The year-end banquet was held in Dulany Auditorium on April 28. The event recognized both the academic and performance achievements of the students and the department.

The “Most Contribution to the Theatre Department “ Award was presented to Christy Pinz of St. Peters, Mo. It is the highest honor that can be awarded to a student actor, technician, designer or manager who has demonstrated exceptional talent, loyalty, creativity and constancy of purpose in all areas of the theatre department.

Students honored for exceptional achievement in design or technical theatre were Stephanie Robinson of St. Charles, Mo., for lighting design; Melissa Byers of Florissant, Mo., for scenic design; Lindsey Mertes of Branson, Mo., for assistant director/stage management, and Grant Lierheimer of Mexico, Mo., and Jason Flauaus of St. Charles, Mo., for special effects.

Lierheimer and Flauaus also received the Outstanding Achievement in Theatre Award

William Woods students and Fulton residents receiving certificates for exceptional achievement in character development in a play or musical were Lierheimer, as Curly in “Oklahoma!” and Eddie McCuen in “The Musical Comedy Murders of 1940,” Lindsey Pace of Rolla, Mo., as Helsa Wenzel in “The Musical Comedy Murders of 1940,” Jared
Krichevsky of Torrance, Calif., as Ali Hakim in “Oklahoma!,” Mertes as Dorothea in
“Eleemosynary,” Jody Paschal of Auxvasse, Mo., as Roger Hopewell in “The Musical
Comedy Murders of 1940,” Pinz as Echo in “Eleemosynary” and as Electra in “Electra,” Mike Wilson of Fulton, Mo., as Jud Fry in “Oklahoma!,” Erin Hux of Fulton, Mo., as Marjorie Baverstock in “The Musical Comedy Murders of 1940,” Jamie Heisler of Portland, Ore., as Ado Annie in “Oklahoma!,” and Flauaus as Orestes in “Electra.”

Wilson received the “Old World Craftsman Award” for his design and exceptional craftsmanship in making the weapons for the “Electra” production. This award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding technical theatre craftsmanship far beyond the necessary requirements of the productions. Wilson also won the award last year.

Also recognized were the new Alpha Psi Omega initiates. Alpha Psi Omega is the national collegiate honor fraternity for theatre. Inducted were Robinson, Lierheimer and Hux.

The main stage season productions for the fall of 2002 were announced. They are: the musical “Grease,” the classic comedy “Harvey,” the psychological drama “Blood Relations” and the hilarious comedy “Faith County.”