Theatre Department at WWU Gives End-of-Year Awards

The William Woods University theatre department recently held its annual Achievement Night, awarding students for their academic and production achievements for the 2007-08 theatre season.

Taylor Davidson, a senior from Kansas City, Mo., won the “Most Contribution to the Theatre Department” Award. This award is the highest honor the department gives to any actor, student, technician, designer or manager. The recipient is the person that best exemplifies all aspects of the theatre department.

In addition, Davidson received a Certificate of Technical Achievement for achievement in stage management on “The Star Spangled Girl.”

Best Actress went to Allison Ward of Hazelwood, Mo., and Best Actor went to Cody Olendorff of Pacific, Mo. Both received the award for their performance in “Seascape.” Known as the WWU Theatre Guild Awards, these honors are determined by a group of faculty, staff and community members.

Also nominated for Best Actress or Actor were Natalie Baughman of Kansas City, Mo., for her performance as Babe Williams in “The Pajama Game;” Bethany Hall of Des Moines, Iowa, for her performance as Germaine in “Picasso at the Lapin Agile;” Taylor Davidson as Hines in “The Pajama Game” and Chris Cunningham of Mclean, Va., as Einstein in “Picasso at the Lapin Agile.”

Receiving the “Craftsman Award” was Mike Wilson, a community player from Fulton, Mo., for his work on the knife throwing board in “The Pajama Game.”

The “Outstanding Achievement in Theatre” Award went to Bryn Hudson of Carrollton, Texas. The award is given to the individual that demonstrates outstanding technical theatre craftsmanship far beyond the necessary requirements for the production.

Newly initiated members of Alpha Psi Omega, theatre honor society, were recognized: Brian Schmiderer of Pacific, Mo., Cody Olendorff and Allison Ward.

Productions planned for the 2008-09 theatre season were also announced. The season will include “The Boy Friend,” music, book and lyrics by Sandra Wilson; “Don’t Dress for Dinner” by Marc Camoletti; “Hedda Gabler” by Henrik Ibsen, and “The Miser” by Moliere.