Theatre Department at William Woods Presents Awards

The William Woods Theatre Department recently hosted its annual awards night, recognizing students and local participants for their achievements and high involvement in the department.

The “Most Contribution to the Theatre Department” Award was presented to Shaun Speers, a senior from O’Fallon, Mo., who also won the award his sophomore year. It is the highest honor that can be awarded to a student actor, technician, designer or manager who has demonstrated exceptional talent, loyalty, creativity and constancy of purpose in all areas of the theatre department.

Bethany Hall of Des Moines, Iowa, won Best Performance by an Actress for her part as Jan in “Bedroom Farce.” She was also nominated for her part as Kate Bixley in “Exit the Body.” Also nominated for Best Performance by an Actress were Arin Brewington of De Soto, Mo., for “Once Upon a Mattress” and Kristin Bailey of Columbia, Mo., for “Phaedra.”

Matt Pedersen of Auxvasse, Mo., won Best Performance by an Actor for his part as Vernon Cookley in “Exit The Body.” Also nominated were Taylor Davidson of Kansas City, Mo., for “Once Upon a Mattress” and “Bedroom Farce” and Cody Olendorff of Pacific, Mo., for “Phaedra.”

In addition, students were honored for exceptional achievement in mainstage design, management or technical theatre. The award went to Bryn Hudson of Carrollton, Texas, for Achievement in Stage Management on “Once Upon A Mattress,” Shaun Speers for Achievement in Student Technical Direction which far exceeded expectations, and Taylor Davidson for Achievement in Stage Management on “Phaedra.”

Four students were recognized for being initiated earlier in the year into Alpha Psi Omega, the national honor society for theatre: Bethany Hall, Arin Brewington, Taylor Davidson and Mike Zumwalt of St. Louis, Mo.

Theatre students who were honored for their portfolio reviews this year were: Bethany Hall, for professional presentation, Shaun Speers, for dedication to craft, and Taylor Davidson for artistic growth.

The main stage season productions for the 2007-08 season were announced. The season starts off with the musical “The Pajama Game,” followed by Neil Simon’s comedy, “The Star-Spangled Girl;” an absurdist comedy, “Picasso at the Lapin Agile” and Edward Albee’s “Seascape,” winner of the 1975 Pulitzer Prize.