Sydow Receives Several Awards

Jennifer Sydow, a senior at William Woods University received the Cockrell Award at the university’s co-curricular honors banquet, April 21. At the Academic Convocation earlier the same day, Sydow was named the 2004 Distinguished Scholar in Spanish.

She has also been named to the 2004 edition of “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.”
The Cockrell Award is presented to the graduating senior who has participated in a variety of campus activities, serving as an officer or chair, and who has held membership in honorary groups. The student must exemplify outstanding campus citizenship, contribute to society, exhibit loyalty to the university and its policies and have a genuine regard for others in personal relationships.

The faculty of various disciplines at William Woods have the opportunity each spring to designate one graduating senior as a Distinguished Scholar. A minimum grade point average of 3.4 is required, but the faculty may consider other relevant academic factors and variables in the selection process.

Sydow was one of 13 William Woods University students selected for Who’s Who, based on being an outstanding campus leader. A campus nominating committee and editors of the annual directory chose the students based on academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success.

She joins an elite group of students from more than 2,300 institutions of higher learning in all 50 states. Outstanding students have been honored in the annual Who’s Who directory since it was first published in 1934.

Sydow is active on the William Woods campus, where she is President’s 20 co-chair, Western Club treasurer and a member of the Phi Alpha Delta Pre-Law organization and mock trial team. She also served as alumni relations co-chair, secretary, treasurer and president of Chi Omega sorority.

A Dean’s List student every semester, she also was president of Alpha Chi Honor Society and has been vice president and secretary of Alpha Mu Gamma Foreign Language Honorary. She was a charter member of the Honors Program and took third place this year in the Undergraduate Research Conference.

She was a recipient of the Amy Shelton McNutt Scholarship and the Missouri Bright Flight Scholarship.