Students Participate in Honors Scholars Program at William Woods

Forty students participated in the selective Honors Scholars program at William Woods University during the 2013-2014 academic year.

The Honors Scholars program at William Woods fosters the growth of students who are dedicated, imaginative and excited about learning. The program is a supportive community composed of students from all majors on campus. Approximately 20 students are accepted into the program each year.

During each semester, students meet informally, have lunch together and discuss their coursework, research, organization participation and service learning activities. Because there are students from all majors represented, the diversity of interests allows for challenging interactions between students as they seek to understand one another’s approaches to learning and perspectives on topics.

To be successful in honors courses, students must be active learners ready to engage in the interchange of ideas among the students in the course and between the student and the professor. The courses are designed to provide an enriched learning experience where the coverage is more in-depth than non-honors courses.

The program is committed to providing opportunities for students to employ creative and critical thinking as they serve the campus and greater communities.

Participants this year were:

  • Rachel Arnold of Prairie Village, Kan.
  • Grace Elizabeth Barnes of Park Hills, Mo.
  • Bryanna Nicole Besch of O’Fallon, Mo.
  • Petra Bethea of Sedro Woolley, Wash.
  • Katherine Bilsky of Knightstown, Ind.
  • Marissa Danielle Boster of Girard, Ill.
  • Halie Christian Brooks of Sturgeon, Mo.
  • Cristi Christianson of Scottsdale, Ariz.
  • Hannah Corbin of Columbia, Mo.
  • Isaac Philip Dodson of Webster Groves, Mo.
  • Jodie Dolan of Westphalia, Mo.
  • Jessica Anne Doran of Elk Grove, Calif.
  • Cassandra Marie Dunn of San Diego, Calif.
  • Adelle DuSold of Franklin, Ind.
  • Alison Marie Godar of Hardin, Ill.
  • Billie Henry of Pittsfield, Ill.
  • Katherine Johnson of Tulsa, Okla.
  • Stephanie Koerner of Kankakee, Ill.
  • Ashley Larkins of Fort Lupton, Colo.
  • Kiersten Lockman of Kannapolis, N.C.
  • Kyle Mathews of Simi Valley, Calif.
  • Sara McCahon of Jefferson City, Mo.
  • Haley Joi McGrath of Fulton, Mo.
  • Erin S. McHugh of Palatine, Ill.
  • Jacqueline Moore of Terre Haute, Ind.
  • Julia Needhammer of Flagstaff, Ariz.
  • Rachel Ostrem of Radcliffe, Iowa
  • Debra Parrot of Vandalia, Mo.
  • Hannah Podgroski of Glastonbury, Conn.
  • Adelaide Marie Reddish of Colorado Springs, Colo.
  • Addie Rolwes of Wentzville, Mo.
  • Joan Ryan of Longmont, Colo.
  • Rachel Elizabeth Skelton of East Prairie, Mo.
  • Dakota Smith of Montgomery City, Mo.
  • Grace Lunatto Wade of St. Charles, Mo.
  • Stephanie Walker of Katy, Texas
  • Chasash Warkentin of Tucson, Ariz.
  • Mark Webb of Mount Vernon, Mo.
  • Anne Wehner of Kouts, Ind.
  • Autumn Yokum of Lawson, Mo.

To be eligible for the program, incoming freshmen must have a high ACT score and a high cumulative GPA, provide an essay demonstrating their writing ability and complete an interview with the scholarship committee. Students must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.4 or higher to remain in the program.