Students Named Distinguished Scholars at William Woods University

Three Fulton area residents were among the 21 William Woods University students named 2008 Distinguished Scholars at the WWU Academic Convocation April 23.

Kim Small, daughter of Jim and Debbie Small of Fulton, is the Distinguished Scholar in Computer Information Systems. Ashley Miller, daughter of Johnny and Janice Miller of Tebbetts, is the Distinguished Scholar in Biology. Tresa Allen of Fulton is the Distinguished Scholar in Social Work.

Other Distinguished Scholars are Alisha Holzer of Jefferson City, Accounting; Seana Lacombe of San Antonio, Texas, ASL Interpreting; Robert Candee of Crocker, Biology; Victoria Luisi of Carrollton, Texas, Business Administration; Kristin Smith of San Francisco, Communications; Holly Fisher of Kentwood, Mich., Equestrian Science; Kathleen Joyce of Kenosha, Wis., Equine Administration; Justin Koch of Medicine Hat, Canada, Exercise Science; Nicholas Meinhardt of Springfield, Mo., Exercise Science; Dana Juncker of Mt. Vernon, Ind., Graphic Design; Kyle Rogers of Wichita, Kan., History; Elizabeth Baker of Maryville, Mo., Management Information Systems; Kyle Proebsting of St. Charles, Mathematics; Ashley Windmiller of Salisbury, Physical Education; Sarah Anderson of Overland Park, Kan., Political/Legal Studies; Mary Peck of Springfield, Mo., Sports Management; BJ Underkofler of Helena, Mont., Sports Management, and Jennifer Costello of St. Louis, Studio Art.

The faculty of various disciplines at William Woods have the opportunity each spring to designate one graduating senior as a Distinguished Scholar. A minimum grade point average of 3.4 is required, but the faculty may consider other relevant academic factors and variables in the selection process.