New Campus Standards Board Members Chosen

When students at William Woods University get in trouble, they go before a committee of their peers for disciplinary action.

Known as the Campus Standards Board, the committee hears violations of policies and standards of the university. Cases vary, from disrespect to a university employee to such things as alcohol violations, noise violations, physical confrontations and vandalism.

The board may impose a range of sanctions, based on the severity of the offense.

Michelle Kemp, WWU director of student success and transition, is the advisor for Campus Standards Board (CSB). According to Kemp, the goal of the university judicial process is to promote an environment that supports the university’s mission, encourages appropriate behavior and protects the community and its members from disruption and harm.

“This judicial process is intended to be educational for both the members of the board and those that appear before them,” she said.

“We find that appearing before a board of your peers is very effective means of dealing with discipline issues,” Kemp said. “The CSB members do an excellent job of addressing violations and clearly communicating to their peers what is – and is not- acceptable behavior. Hearing that message from your peers can be very powerful.”

Several new faces now make up the Campus Standards Board at William Woods University. They are: Erica Dyer, Odessa, Mo.; Lynn Frydrych, Butternut, Wis.; Lindsey Hackman, Fulton, Mo.; Katy Hiatte, New Bloomfield, Mo., and Josh Stephenson, Plainfield, Ill.

To be considered, they had to complete an application that included providing appropriate and creative sanctions to examples of student cases. Students were selected based upon their application and with the agreement from the returning board members that the applicant would be fair and unbiased, respect confidentiality and obey university policies.

“For the CSB to be effective, its members have to be respected by their peers,” explains Kemp. “CSB members have to be strong leaders and admirable role models. Our new members certainly meet those criteria.”

She added, “We were also looking for a diverse representation of the student body—different genders, class years and housing assignments.”

The returning board members are all seniors, who will be graduating in May. They are: Barbie Banks, Pevely, Mo.; Chris Coker, Holts Summit, Mo.; Tyera Flanders, Waynesville, Mo., and Tarra White, Mexico, Mo.