The Missouri Court of Appeals, Western District, will convene court at William Woods University in Fulton, Missouri on Tuesday, November 12, 2002, Chief Judge Joseph Ellis announced today.

A three-judge panel consisting of Judge Robert Ulrich, Judge Harold Lowenstein and Judge Ronald Holliger will hear oral arguments in seven cases in the Weitzman Courtroom located in the Burton Business and Economics Building, beginning at 1:30 p.m., Ellis said.

He explained that the cases are appeals from previously held trials in area circuit courts. The judges will hear attorneys argue whether the trials had errors that should cause them to be retried or the trial court’s judgment reversed, he said. The judges will read written arguments before the court session, he added, and may interrupt the attorney’s arguments with questions.

The three judges will recess in between arguments to discuss the court system and generally explain proceedings, Ellis said.

This will be the Court’s fifth visit to the William Woods campus. The Court convenes regularly in Kansas City. Its jurisdiction is appeals from trial courts in 45 counties, which include all of northwest Missouri, and most of central Missouri.

Ulrich will preside over the proceedings at Williams Woods. He served as the United States Attorney for the Western District of Missouri for eight years prior to his appointment to the court in 1989. Lowenstein is the senior judge on the court in terms of tenure, having been appointed in 1981. Previously, he served in the Missouri House of Representatives and practiced law in Kansas City. Holliger was appointed to the court in 2000. Immediately prior to his appointment, he served as a circuit judge in Jackson County. Prior to judicial service, he practiced law in Kansas City.

“It is important for the Court to convene oral arguments outside of Kansas City,” Ulrich said. “This gives individuals an opportunity to observe a part of the judicial system they normally do not see. We hope those attending will gain a better understanding of the Court’s function.”

During the past eleven years, the Court has held sessions in Columbia, Fulton, Moberly, Kirksville, Chillicothe, Tuscumbia, Sedalia, St. Joseph, Maryville, Marshall, Gallatin, Linneus, Warrensburg, Macon, Nevada, Lexington, Independence, Jefferson City, Savannah, Clinton, Liberty, Richmond and Trenton.