MCF Receives Donations to Provide Student Scholarships

Missouri Colleges Fund (MCF) recently received donations from the Herman T. and Phenie R. Pott Foundation and Wachovia Wells Fargo Foundation. The funds will provide scholarships to students at MCF-member schools, including Westminster College and William Woods University.


The Missouri Colleges Fund is affiliated with the Foundation for Independent Higher Education, which is a national partner in a network of member state and regional associations that represent more than 650 private colleges and universities.


The foundation secures financial resources for its member funds and their students; develops collaborative programs within its network and with other organizations; and together with its members, is a primary voice of independent higher education to the corporate and philanthropic communities.


The Herman T. & Phenie R. Pott Foundation, contributed $30,000 to the Missouri Colleges Fund to provide scholarships at each of the 16 member schools.  The scholarships will be awarded by the member schools to outstanding qualified students on the basis of financial need. The Pott Foundation of St. Louis, Mo., is a non-profit organization that supports children’s education along with health and human services.


The Wachovia Wells Fargo Foundation contributed $24,000 to the Missouri Colleges Fund.  Sixteen $1,500 scholarships will be awarded to outstanding qualified students majoring in business-related studies. The mission of Wachovia Wells Fargo Foundation is to build strong and vibrant communities, improve the quality of life and make a positive difference.


MCF-member schools are independent baccalaureate degree-granting liberal arts and comprehensive colleges and universities in the state of Missouri.  Their income is derived primarily from private sources.


In addition to Westminster College and William Woods University, Missouri Colleges Fund member schools include Avila University and Rockhurst University, Kansas City; Central Methodist University, Fayette; Columbia College, Columbia; Culver-Stockton College, Canton; Drury University and Evangel University, Springfield; Fontbonne University, Maryville University and Missouri Baptist University, St. Louis; Hannibal–LaGrange College, Hannibal; Park University, Parkville; Southwest Baptist University, Bolivar, and William Jewell College, Liberty.


The MCF was incorporated in 1952 as a partnership of private enterprise and the member independent colleges and universities in the Show-Me State. The Fund is a 501 (c) (3) tax-exempt corporation; therefore, all contributions to the Fund are tax-deductible up to the limits prescribed by the law.


More information about MCF can be found online at