Greeks Receive Recognition at WWU


Every year the sororities and fraternities at William Woods
University continue to strive for excellence, both in the classroom and the
community. As a result of their efforts, Greek chapters and individual members
were honored recently at the annual Greek Awards Ceremony.
Greek of the Year Awards, given to the sorority and
fraternity member who best exemplifies Greek life at William Woods, went to Delta
Gamma’s Nicole Elliott of Fulton,
Mo., and Pi Kappa Alpha’s Zach Hurst of Jefferson City, Mo.
Outstanding Senior Awards went to Alpha Chi Omega’s Lisa Burke of Louisburg, Kan., and Pi
Kappa Alpha’s Mike Towle of
Grandview, Mo. Outstanding Junior Awards went to Alpha Chi Omega’s Jessica Bargate of Jefferson City, Mo. and Phi Gamma Delta’s Michael Stradford of Bellflower, Mo. Outstanding Sophomore Awards
went to Alpha Chi Omega’s Brooke
of Wildwood, Mo., and Phi Gamma
Delta’s Shawn Claypool of Jefferson City, Mo.
Outstanding New Member Awards went to Alpha Chi Omega’s Alicia Delaney of St. Peters, Mo., and Pi
Kappa Alpha’s Kyle Matthews of Sun
Valley, Calif.
The Outstanding Chapter President Award went to Chi Omega’s Brittany Cox of Rolla, Mo., and Benjamin Lifritz of O’Fallon, Mo. Alpha
Chi Omega’s advisor, Judy Schmuck of Wildwood, Mo., won the Advisor of
the Year Award for her hard work and dedication to the sorority. Terry
of Jefferson City, Mo.,
professor of art, received the Faculty/Staff Member of the Year Award.
He was nominated by Alpha Chi Omega.
The Unsung Hero Award was given to Alpha Chi Omega’sDevin Pain of St. Peters, Mo.; Alpha
Phi’s Hanna O’Dell of Downers Grove,
Ill.; Chi Omega’s Olivia Parsons of
New Haven, Mo.; Delta Gamma’s Hannah
of Glastonbury, Ct.; Phi Gamma Delta’s Derrick Hunolt of Hermann, Mo., and Pi Kappa Alpha’s Matthew Wools of St. James, Mo.
Emerging Leaders Awards went to Alpha Chi Omega’s Alicia Delaney, Alpha Phi’s Amber Basile of Poway, Calif.;Chi Omega’s Amy Gibson of Kirksville, Mo.; Delta Gamma’s Jessie Brunelle of Meridian, Idaho; Phi Gamma Delta’s Kyle Hendrix of St. Charles, Mo., and
Pi Kappa Alpha’s Dakota Linsenbardt of
Jefferson City, Mo.
The Order of Omega Awards, given to Greek members nominated
by other chapters and voted on by the members of Order of Omega Greek honor
society, went to Alpha Chi Omega’s Liza Payne of Zionsville, Ind.; Alpha Phi’s Gina Davis of
Chesterfield, Mo.; Chi Omega’s Marissa McPherson of Ashland, Mo.; Delta Gamma’s Gentry Pickett of Lafayette,
La.; Pi Kappa Alpha’s Zach Hurst, and Phi Gamma Delta’s Andrew Neudecker of Alton, Ill.
Chapters that received the Outstanding Philanthropy Award
were Alpha Chi Omega for its support of CARDV, a local organization dealing
with domestic violence; Phi Gamma Delta for its support of the Michael J. Fox
Foundation for Parkinson’s Research, and Pi Kappa Alpha, for its support of the
V Foundation for Cancer Research..
In addition to other awards, Alpha Chi Omega earned the
Outstanding Sorority Grades Award and Phi Gamma Delta received the Top
Fraternity Grades Award.