Greeks Receive Recognition at WWU

Stacie BonteEvery year the sororities and fraternities at William Woods University continue to strive for excellence, both in the classroom and the community. As a result of their efforts, Greek chapters and members were honored at the annual Greek Awards Banquet on April 25.


Clayton ThompsonGreek of the Year Awards, given to the sorority and fraternity member who best exemplifies Greek life at William Woods, went to Alpha Chi Omega’s Stacie Bonte of Fenton, Mo., and Pi Kappa Alpha’s Clayton Thompson of Vandalia, Mo.


Outstanding Senior Awards went to Bonte, Chi Omega’s Amanda Herriman of Eldon, Mo., and Phi Gamma Delta’s Cody Whalen of Mexico, Mo. Outstanding Junior Awards went to Chi Omega’s Skye Wade of Licking, Mo., and Pi Kappa Alpha’s Scott Thompson of St. James, Mo. Outstanding Sophomore Awards went to Alpha Phi’s Lacey Sweeten of New Bloomfield, Mo., and Pi Kappa Alpha’s Ben LiFritz of O’Fallon, Mo. Outstanding New Member Awards went to Chi Omega’s Charlotte Willy of Rolla, Mo., and Pi Kappa Alpha’s Zach Hurst of Jefferson City, Mo.


The Outstanding Chapter President Award went to former Chi Omega president Lindsey Scheets of Salem, Mo. Alpha Chi Omega’s advisor, Judy Schmuck of Wildwood, Mo., won the Advisor of the Year award for her hard work and dedication to the sorority. Venita Mitchell, WWU dean of student life, received the Faculty/Staff Member of the Year Award.


Chapters that received the Outstanding Philanthropy Award were Chi Omega for Omega Man, which raises money and support for the Make a Wish Foundation; Alpha Phi for Ivy League, which benefits the Alpha Phi Foundation targeting cardiac care, and Phi Gamma Delta for Fiji Islander, which raises money for the Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research.


The Panhellenic Spirit Award went to by Delta Gamma’s Nicki Knight of Nixa, Mo.; Chi Omega’s Rebecca Cooper of Red Bud, Ill., and Pi Kappa Alpha’s Bradley Prasuhn of Farmington, Mo.


The Unsung Hero Award was given to Alpha Chi Omega’s Lauren Greenwald of Houston, Texas, and Delta Gamma’s Jordan Murray of Farmington, Mo.


The Order of Omega Awards, given to Greek members nominated by another chapter and voted on by the members of Order of Omega Greek honor society, went to Alpha Chi Omega’s Kristin Garnett of Jefferson City, Mo.; Alpha Phi’s Kathryn Golden of Crystal Lake, Ill.; Chi Omega’s Emily Teepe of Nevada, Mo.; Delta Gamma’s Frankie Hart of Lee’s Summit, Mo.; Pi Kappa Alpha’s Bradley Prasuhn of Farmington, Mo., and Phi Gamma Delta’s of Troy, Mo.


In addition to other awards, Alpha Chi Omega earned the Outstanding Sorority Grades Award and Phi Gamma Delta received the Outstanding Fraternity Grades Award.