Greeks at William Woods Honored for Excellence

Each spring the William Woods University Greek community
honors those within their ranks who display excellence and service, both in and
out of the classroom.

Outstanding sorority and fraternity members were honored at
an awards ceremony March 26 in Dulany Auditorium. The Greek of the Year Award
was presented to Delta Gamma’s Jessie Brunelle of Meridian, Idaho.
The Outstanding Member Award was given to Alpha Chi Omega’s
Katherine Wortmann of Mexico, Mo.; Alpha Phi’s Jenny Morris of Overland Park,
Kan.; Chi Omega’s Ilana Archuleta of Fulton, Mo.; Delta Gamma’s Jessie Brunelle
of Meridian, Idaho; Phi Gamma Delta’s Taylor Oestriech of Fulton, Mo.; and Pi
Kappa Alpha’s Doug Harris of Fenton, Mo.
Winners of Outstanding Freshman awards were Pi Kappa Alpha’s
Anthony Dewey of Warrenton, Mo.; Alpha Phi’s Ashley Bauer of Warrenton, Mo.;
and Delta Gamma’s Grace Routh of Maryland Heights, Mo.
Phi Gamma Delta’s Benjamin Struemph of Jefferson City, Mo.;
and Chi Omega’s Lindsey Cornelius of Archie, Mo., and Baily Peterson of
Cedarburg, Wis., won the Outstanding Sophomore awards.
Outstanding Junior Awards went to Phi Gamma Delta’s Taylor
Oestreich of Fulton, Mo.; Alpha Chi Omega’s Alicia Delaney of St. Peters, Mo.;
and Chi Omega’s Amy Gibson of Kirksville, Mo.
Outstanding Seniors were Pi Kappa Alpha’s Lucas Watson of
Louisiana, Mo.; Alpha Chi Omega’s Brooke Thibodaux of Wildwood, Mo., and Katherine
Wortmann of Mexico, Mo.
The Unsung Hero Award for sororities was given to Alpha Chi
Omega’s Catherine Fuhs of Colorado Springs, Colo.; Alpha Phi’s Julia Needhammer
of Flagstaff, Ariz., and Joanie Ryan of Longmont, Colo.; Chi Omega’s Bailey
Peterson of Cedarburg, Wis.; and Delta Gamma’s Vanessa Davidson of Jefferson
City, Mo.
Phi Gamma Delta’s Jaryd Kalvans-Beardsley of Jefferson City,
Mo., and Pi Kappa Alpha’s Nate Lamberson of Auxvasse, Mo., received the Unsung
Hero Award for fraternities.
The chapters individually chose the outstanding member and
unsung hero awards. Then each chapter nominated two women and one man for
each outstanding class award.  These awards, and Greek of the Year, were
then chosen after an interview process with the Greek Council executive
John Couper congratulates Jessie Brunelle, recipient of the
Greek of the Year Award.
Outstanding Member Award recipients are Jessie Brunelle,
Taylor Oestreich, Katherine Wortmann, Jenny Morris and Ilana Archuleta. Doug
Harris was unavailable.
Unsung Heroes are (left to right) Bailey Peterson, Catherine
Fuhs, Julia Needhammer, Joanie Ryan, Vanessa Davidson and  Jaryd Kalvans-Beardsley.  Nate Lamberson was unavailable.