Equestrian Division Honors Students with Awards

William Woods University equestrian students were honored recently at the Equestrian Awards banquet for their hard work, academics and dedication to the field.

Jennifer Brown of Marshville, N.C., received the Vera Chenoweth Award as the over-all outstanding equestrian science graduate. The recipient of this award must be an accomplished horseperson, as well as the person who has given the most service to the entire division over four years.

Lora Baumgartner of Milwaukee, Wis., received the Atkinson Achievement Award. The award honors the equestrian science major who has demonstrated the most growth as rider and horseperson during his or her time at William Woods.

Genevieve Flieger of Lakewood, Ohio, and Hanne Hartileus of Northfield, Minn., were named Distinguished Scholars for Equestrian Science. The award goes to graduating equestrian science majors with the highest accumulative GPA who have also demonstrated the ideals of the equestrian studies division.

Sara Forman of Hopkins, Mich., received the Department Appreciation Award,
Kristie Cutting of Barre, Mass., received the Saddle Seat Appreciation Award, Stephanie Hill of Harrisburg, Mo., received the Western Appreciation Award and Mary Beck of Alleman, Iowa, received the Hunter/Jumper Appreciation Award.